Trixie, Nancy, et al

19 January 2004 at 17:02 Leave a comment

I’ve been reminiscing about all my favorite mysteries when I was a kid:

The Happy Hollisters

Encyclopedia Brown

Trixie Belden

Nancy Drew

Trixie Belden was by far my favorite, though she could be a bit dim, because her mysteries were always fun. I remember wanting my own ‘jalopy’ just like Mart. And dunagrees. Whatever those were. Or were dungarees in Nancy Drew?

And I wouldn’t have read nearly as much Nancy Drew if it hadn’t been for George. Nancy was just a bit too much of a girly-girl for me, so I really couldn’t stand Bess.

I didn’t read very far into any of the series. Once they started getting ‘modern’ they completely lost my interest. I mean, there was no way these fictional characters were ever going to reflect my reality.  What I loved was getting a glimpse of what was normal when they were written, though, of course, I didn’t think about it that way at the time. I just knew I got bored.

I remember a story in a reading text book in first grade that talked all about how kids who lived in the country lived. And then I realized they meant me. And then I realized that not only did most kids not live like me, they weren’t going to learn anything about my life from this story. I don’t remember the details, but I remember imagining a kid running around a farm in overalls, which I certainly never did. Nor did most of the people I knew.

Entry filed under: reading.

Go to your happy place… Platitudinal

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 5 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 5 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


