Religious theory

11 July 2004 at 17:11 Leave a comment

Religion is not something I ordinarily give a lot of thought to, but after ‘re-experiencing’ church as an adult (in other words my husband goes) I find that I have learned many things and have developed a new theory of religion.

First of all, I discovered that I really hate singing in church.

Then I wondered, does my sister hate it? And does this explain why she became a Quaker?! They don’t sing in church. So I asked and, yep, she hates it too.

Well, actually, I can’t say I hate singing in church, because I just don’t do it. Except the doxology. I’ve always liked the doxology.

There we stand, poor old bb dutifully holding the hymnal so I can see it, sort of nudging me, but I just smile at him. Nothing doing!

He sings well, but I have the range of a…I’ll say turnip.  I can hear how badly I sing.

I know a woman whose singing voice cuts out oddly in the middle of trying to sing a note.  I’m suggesting that that’s why she doesn’t go, even though she’s a fervent believer. She’s a “Born Again” Christian, even though she hasn’t been to church for, you know, 20 years.

And I know a guy with a pretty awful voice, but he seems to be tone deaf.  He goes to church every Sunday.

There you have it, my theory (*ahem**ahem*): singing skill/music appreciation as a determining factor in church-going and religious choice.

Entry filed under: music.

Che Chuoi Atwood

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 5 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 5 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


