Chesterton

23 August 2004 at 11:17 Leave a comment

I’ve been reading a lot of G.K. Chesterton.

The good news, I loved The Man Who Knew Too Much. I think the opening scene is the best opening to a mystery that I have ever read. Truly brilliant.

The bad news, I hated everything else I’ve found that he’s written… especially Father Brown. Actually, I don’t know which I hated more, any Father Brown mystery or The Man Who Was Thursday. The problem with MWWT was that it started out great. Really great. It had so much potential, but once he gets on the boat, forget it.

Entry filed under: reading.

too true jam tart thief

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 5 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 5 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


