Spidey sense

24 September 2004 at 06:45 Leave a comment

I am not a fearful person.  Which is surely why when I scream my husband doesn’t ask me what’s wrong, he grabs a shoe and says, “Where is it?”

I can sense the slightest movement of a spider even in a room crowded with ‘white noise’ of objects, people, cats. I can even see them behind me (I would describe the sensation of knowing one is behind me as a “tingle”) but my most recent experience amazes even me.

I went into the bathroom (not to be confused with the ‘water closet’, which is usually a separate room in France) to brush my teeth and I just knew there was a very large spider around. I tried looking for it casually out of the corner of my eye as I brushed my teeth, but I didn’t see anything and decided I was being paranoid and headed to the WC.

Then I saw it.

I didn’t scream, but that wasn’t because it wasn’t big (it was. Very), but because it couldn’t surprise me. I’d been looking for it, you see. I knew it would be there.

Bb was very impressed I didn’t scream, especially since it was so large.   It even unnerved him.

Entry filed under: huh.

Uh, hello? Rural realities

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


