Milhone

17 October 2004 at 11:21 Leave a comment

Read Sue Grafton’s K is for Killer. Oh my.

Kinsey may have been left with only one silly and melodramatic question: “Having strayed into the shadows, can I find my way back,” but I was left with about a million. I still feel lost. Maybe I should list the loose ends just so I can feel some sense of resolution (can we say ‘met our word count?’):

1. the client – no resolution there at all. Did Kinsey tell her about the murderer? How did she feel about it?

2. the night DJ – he seems to lose interest. Why?

3. the murderer. Don’t want to give anything away there.

4. the victim’s sisters and father.

5. the night shift nurse. She had some actions and feelings that needed addressing.

I feel like I’m leaving some out…

And the lame attempt to turn what was clearly a device to cut the story short (to have followed all these stories to their natural conclusion would have taken, probably, another 150-200 pgs.) into an issue of character development.

The fact is that Kinsey has no character. She finds her murders by asking anyone who will listen boring questions until someone finally gets annoyed enough to try to kill her: investigation by annoying suspects and turning yourself into bait.

Entry filed under: reading.

css the Metaphysical implications of a toaster

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


