Charteris’ The Saint

17 May 2005 at 13:20 Leave a comment

Like James Bond, I inherited my copies of The Saint with my house. And so I sat down and thoroughly enjoyed 19 of them.

The earliest ones are my favorite, and I wish he’d either developed Patricia Holm more fully, or just forgotten about her, but they are all enjoyable in some way. I also prefer the full novel length Templar books, but they are rather rarish.

I was a bit disconcerted by some of the stories. They just weren’t the Saint, you know. I suspected a ghost-writer. Then I found this:

“After the Saint was well established, I even went back over my earlier writings and selected those which I still wanted to perpetuate, and shamelessly rewrote them as Saint stories and included them in certain books. I shall not tell you which they are, since perhaps I ought to leave some puzzles for the commentators; but my defense, if I need one at all, is that if I had created the Saint before I wrote those stories they would certainly have revolved around the Saint instead of around the experimental character who preceded him.”

Leslie Charteris

My favorite may be The Saint Meets His Match. In The Avenging Saint, too, he has more of that Saint flair.

Very fun.

Highly recommended.

Entry filed under: reading.

Poulton-Le-Fylde Beginnings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


