Johnson’s Griffith

1 November 2005 at 10:07 Leave a comment

“After my death I wish no other herald,
no other speaker of my living actions
to keep mine honour from corruption,
but such an honest chronicler as Griffith.”
-Shakespeare, Henry VIII

I forgot to mention that bb picked up a book for me while he was in Cambridge: Boswell’s Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. A neat 1876 edition with lots of notes.

And I’m looking forward to digging in after the holidays.

My parents owned The Great Books of the Western World with matching volumes (coordinated colored skiver labels) and its proper bookcase, and for some reason the one I kept picking up and trying to read and then putting back down was Boswell’s Life of Johnson.

I still don’t know what about it drew my attention. It would mesmerize me and then I would get bogged down and put it away.

“Boswell writes a regular Journal of our Travels, which I think contains so much of what I say and do, as of all other occurrences together; ‘for such a faithful chronicler is Griffith’.”
-Samuel Johnson, Letter to Mrs. Thrale, September 30, 1773

This time I will read it.

Entry filed under: Dr. Samuel Johnson, reading.

The more things change… Guy Fawkes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 3 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 4 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


