Modern art at the BMA

9 October 2006 at 13:38 Leave a comment

I was looking at the art at the Baltimore Museum of Art, which is really an outstanding museum. Easily my favorite museum in the world, besides le Muse´e du Louvre. The Louvre is the Louvre, but it is so very big. BMA is a bit more bite-sized.

But I was enjoying the modern art section and came across a Pollack. Not a big Pollack fan. At all. A Pollack print distracted me completely while I sat my GRE, but I wasn’t pleased with him even before that incident. He’s dark and uninteresting to me. Anyway, it got me thinking about Modern Art in general, and I realized that its strength is its weakness.

Try as hard as they might, neither the artist nor the curator brings meaning to the audience.

The audience brings meaning to the art.

Bit of a cop out, really, isn’t it?

And what if your audience is vacuous?

But that must also be why I like it, I guess. Or, at least always find it amusing.

Je m’amuse.

Or something.

Entry filed under: misanthropy.

Overheard XVII the Power of plastic

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 5 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 5 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


