the Power of plastic

7 November 2006 at 13:57 Leave a comment

I voted, but it doesn’t seem like it. It seemed like just another financial transaction.

Why this switch to electronic? It sucked. I went in, got a card, signed a flimsy credit card receipt and then got in a second line to wait my turn at one of those cheesy Diebold machines.

I miss pieces of paper and permanent markers. I miss being able to write in a candidate readily. I miss feeling sure my vote would be counted correctly.

But this really all about Americans liking to shop too much, isn’t it?

Shopping good. Voting bad.

But then the creepy thing was handing your card back in and watching them put it in the machine for someone else. What if they steal my money, I mean, vote?

Just a signature, not even a PIN.

Ick.

Entry filed under: misanthropy, Nothing New.

Modern art at the BMA saw it comin’

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 5 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 5 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


