of interest

24 August 2012 at 04:20 Leave a comment

This is so very far from my experience that I find it fascinating in a voyeuristic way…

I wrote seven novels over a period of six years before one was accepted for publication. Rejected by some twenty publishers that seventh eventually earned me an advance of £1,000 for world rights. Evidently, I wasn’t working for money. What then? Pleasure? I don’t think so; I remember I was on the point of giving up when that book was accepted. I’d had enough. However much I enjoyed trying to get the world into words, the rejections were disheartening; and the writing habit was keeping me from a “proper” career elsewhere.

I was writing, I think, in my early twenties, to prove to myself that I could write, that I could become part of the community of writers, and it seemed to me I could not myself be the final judge of that question.

Tim Parks
http://www.nybooks.com/blogs/nyrblog/2012/jul/20/does-money-make-writers-better/

Entry filed under: of interest, writing.

This. “all your best Alice Munros are women”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


