Agreed

23 January 2014 at 10:42 Leave a comment

The blog is dead, long live the blog.

“I am not generally a bomb-thrower, but I wrote this piece in a deliberately provocative way. Blogs obviously aren’t dead and I acknowledged that much right from the title. I (obviously) think there’s a lot of value in the blog format, even apart from its massive influence on online media in general, but as someone who’s been doing it since 1998 and still does it every day, it’s difficult to ignore the blog’s diminished place in our informational diet.
“Through various blogrolls (remember those?) and RSS readers, I used to keep up with hundreds of blogs every day and over a thousand every week. Now I read just two blogs daily…”

Jason Kottke

I tried to use a blogroll on a site I read regularly and many of the links were dead (and they have gone unnoticed, unremoved). I noticed when another blog I read removed their blogroll that I regularly used, but that site can no longer really be called a blog, though it still has one as a component.

And as I looked up something online today that I knew very little about I found only one helpful source: wikipedia.

There was a time that you would find 5-10 sites of varying reliability and quality, but there was variety.

The internet is shrinking.

Entry filed under: reading, think.

the present

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’ve been reading:

  • James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, L.L.D. (London, 14 King William Street, Strand: William P. Nimmo, 1876). 3 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 3, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985). 4 years ago
  • Italo Calvino, Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1988). 4 years ago
  • Stephanie Kallos, Broken for You (New York: Grove Press, 2004). 4 years ago
  • Marsilio Ficino, Letters of Marsilio Ficino, v. 2, trans. Language Dept. School of Economic Science, London (New York: Gingko Press, 1985) 5 years ago

T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved


