Integrity

18 February 2004 at 05:17 Leave a comment

I always imagined that to have ‘integrity’ was to have a set of ideas/ideals and to stick up for them when they are pressed or challenged, in other words, to not be a hypocrite. I guess I imagined, too, that one had to have some courage, though I didn’t think that through.

But I have recently learned that integrity is deeper than that.

To have integrity one has to have a ‘self’, a personality, a center, a simultaneously emotional and rational character that is not merely reactive, but cohesive within itself from which you interact with the world and the people around you.

I actually had never imagined that there were people who didn’t.

But there are.

Entry filed under: huh.

a quiet Valentine’s day Please categorize me

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


T. Anderson Painter

I am a misanthrope. No one ever believes me, but this seems to prove my point.

Archival

Copyright

2003-2013 T. Anderson Painter
all rights reserved